Home > Music, Things I Like... > Neu V David Holmes and the wonders of Spotify

Neu V David Holmes and the wonders of Spotify

I realise there is hardly anything about music on my blog yet, which to anyone who knows me will be rather surprising.

So as my first music post I’ll start with how wonderful Spotify is and the spooky similarities between David Holmes’s album “The Holy Pictures” from last year, and Neu’s final album “Neu 75”. Although the two records are separated by 34 years they are undeniably linked in terms of sound. Try the first Neu track “ISI” with its lush, rich urgency and then listen to either “I heard Wonders” or “Melanie”….

David Holmes – The Holy Pictures

NEU! – NEU! 75

I would be interested to know if Mr. Holmes openly acknowledges the German Kraut rock sound as an inspiration. Knowing that he has a pretty encyclopedic knowledge of music, I can’t believe he wouldn’t have heard the Neu album before he released his…

Unlike me… Which brings me to the wonder that is Spotify. I like so many different kinds of music that it has not been possible in the past, to buy everything I thought I might like. Now however I can now sit in my living room, happily (sadly?) whiling away a morning following the related artists links, filling in all the gaps in my musical knowledge.. sheer bliss for a music head like me

Other recent “discoveries” of mainly instrumental tunage include (in no particular order)

Etienne Jaumet – Night Music – EP (2009)

65daysofstatic – We Were Exploding Anyway (2010)

Jah Wobble – Radioaxiom: A Dub Transmission (2001)

Steve Hillage – Rainbow Dome Musick (1979)

Terry Riley – Terry Riley: A Rainbow In Curved Air; Poppy Nogood and the Phantom Band (1969)

Delia Gonzalez & Gavin Russom – The Days Of Mars (2005)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

