Home > History, Things I Like... > The Westray Wifey

The Westray Wifey

The intriguing Dr. Alice Roberts introduced me to a windswept archeological dig in Scotland last night. Westray up in the Orkney Islands is a 5000 year old Neolithic village which is thought to be one of the oldest farming communities yet found in Britain. The dig has unearthed many interesting things including a stone wall with 40 cattle skulls built-in to the foundations, evidence that barley was being grown in an organised system of fields and this wonderful figure, the Westray Wifey

She is thought to be the oldest representation of a human figure found in Britain, and because she was found in a specific location in one of the homes, there is a suggestion that she is a goddess or has some unknown religious connotation, possibly connected with the abandonment of the village at some unknown point and for unknown reasons….

It’s typical and disheartening that religion always has to rear its ugly head as an explanation for everything. I would rather think of her as a child’s toy, carved by one of the farmers as they sat around the fire one evening talking about the days events and how they would manage to survive yet another Orkney winter.

  1. September 18, 2014 at 23:07

    It’s genuinely very complicated in this active life to listen news on TV,
    thus I simply use internet for that purpose, and
    obtain the hottest information.

  2. September 20, 2014 at 15:47

    Hi! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for
    this website? I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform.

    I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  3. September 27, 2014 at 20:22

    Great post. I used to be checking continuously this weblog and I’m
    inspired! Very helpful information specially the remaining phase 🙂 I take care of such info much.

    I was looking for this particular info for a long time. Thank you and good
    luck.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

