Home > Architecture & Urban Design, Things I Like... > Do Not Alight Here…

Do Not Alight Here…

Yesterday I had cause to go to Queenstown Road Station for the first time since I moved to London more than 22 years ago. Tucked away in the backwaters of Battersea, I was amazed at how run down and ramshackle it seemed, a place somehow forgotten as everything around gets gentrified.

The platforms still look like I imagine they did back in the 1920’s with wooden panelling and ornate cast iron supports, and the whole feeling of otherworldness is completed by the swathes of grass growing out from the surrounding tracks…

I felt as though I’d stepped onto the train at Waterloo and 7 minutes later got out at some abandoned branch line in Yorkshire (an effect only marred by Battersea Power Station’s iconic chimneys in the distance)

“Do not alight here” the signs tell you, but if you fancy a step back to a pre-Beeching time, then why not take a chance.

  1. October 1, 2010 at 10:15

    This is the 2nd occasion I have come across your blog post in the last couple weeks. Seems like I ought to take note of it.

    • October 8, 2010 at 08:45

      Hi there
      Many thanks for looking in…. I’lll try to keep it interesting..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

