Urbex

October 14, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

I came across this book the other day and was amazed at the contents.

After some rooting about on the net, it appears that Urban Exploration (Urbex) is a big thing, whereby people with cameras gain access into abandoned buildings/ factories/ hospitals/ exposition sites etc and take atmospheric and artfully tasteful shots of what they find.

There are some truly breathtaking photos in this book, the one that sticks in my mind is of a school classroom with literally hundreds of gas masks strewn about the floor… I think it was somewhere in a forgotten corner of eastern Europe, a very unsettling image.

There is obviously risk involved in this pursuit (arrest, injury, and occasionally death by all accounts) but that’s obviously all part of the attraction. The images below illustrate a few of these otherworldly places and I can see why people are willing to take the risks…

  1. October 16, 2010 at 19:18

    Mind-blowing article bro. This kind of is just a enormously nicely structured piece of writing, just the awesome info I was looking regarding. I praise you

    • October 22, 2010 at 08:58

      Many thanks for your kind words… I’ll try to keep it interesting.

  2. chrismrfphotography
    February 5, 2011 at 13:15

    Nice article, however I feel I must point out that all of the photographers and artists that I know who persue URBEX have a minimum of 2 rules:
    1. Never break in – we enter through already made openings, a small but important point.

    2. “Take nothing but photo’s, leave nothing but footprints”

    • February 8, 2011 at 11:38

      Hi Chrismrfphotography
      many thanks for your kind words, I’ve happily amended my post to relflect your comments about access, no slur intended on Urbex I can assure you…
      I also noticed that the image of the book was not actualy in the post, which I have also updated, so thanks for that as well.
      regards
      Joe

  3. chrismrfphotography
    February 17, 2011 at 09:10

    No problem, it’s a common misconception we face not helped by a small minority of individuals who seem to be more interested in vandalism under the masquerede of UE.
    However, great article, well written.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

