Home > Music, Things I Like... > 1979: The Best Year for Singles… Ever

1979: The Best Year for Singles… Ever

January 22, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Following my recent post on Albums, I wanted to write one on singles, but I’ve been struggling to find a “single” idea to tie it all together.

After giving it some thought and poking around my books and the interweb, I’ve decided to opt for 1979. Rather a broad umbrella you may say and I would have to agree… but it’s my blog and there were some truly fantastic and life changing records released throughout this year.

I was in my early teens in 1979 and music was becoming a real passion for me, with most of my pocket money spent buying singles and albums. I have to be honest and admit that I didn’t get some of these records at the time they were first released, and its only with the benefit of hindsight that I realise how good they were. Having said that however, I wasn’t that far behind and I certainly would have had all these records in my collection before the mid Eighties when I went to Poly…..

Looking back, 1979 was something of a watershed year. Punk was fizzling out and becoming a parody of itself, rap was in its infancy and the eclectic sounds of the New Wave and the New Romantics was just starting to gain ground. The records below represent a huge spectrum of music, everything from pop to ska to rap to whatever Mr. Dury called his music.

So here are 12 tunes that were either released or charted in the month noted, and that for me justify my claim that this was the best year for singles EVER…

Listen to them all again here 1979 singles and remind yourself how good it all sounded and what wonders the next decade had in store for us…. (when the link opens, right click on “playlist by joejoe64”, copy link location and paste into the search field in Spotify and press the green arrow)

To be honest, I did intend to write a little something about each tune, when/ where I bought it, what it reminds me of  etc, but now I’ve done the Spotify link, I think I’ll just let them speak for themselves…

January – Hit me with Your Rhythm Stick, Ian Dury

February – Oliver’s Army, Elvis Costello

March  – Into The Valley, The Skids

April – Pop Muzik, M

May – Are “Friends” Electric, Gary Numan

June – My Sharona, The Knack

July – Gangsters, The Specials

August – Bela Lugosi’s Dead, Bauhaus

September – Making Plans for Nigel, XTC

October -Video Killed the Radio Star, Buggles

November – Walking on the Moon – The Police

December – Rappers Delight, The Sugarhill Gang

There’s more interesting facts, figures and names here Wikipedia 1979 page

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

