Home > Music, Things I Like... > Wild Beasts

Wild Beasts

When a friend recently played me some tracks from the Wild Beasts album, Two Dancers, I was a bit the worse for wear, and it mostly sounded like a wailing noise to my rather dulled ears, far too slow and involved for that time of night.

There must have been something though, nagging at me through the haze, and my friend was so adamant that it was the best record he’d heard since the last best record, that I loaded it onto my phone on Sunday night, and I’ve been listening to it almost non stop all week…

It’s a strange thing… the music is undeniably beautiful, a collection of uplifting, sometimes odd tunes, with echoes of Foals’  jangly guitars and smart, erudite lyrics that at times remind me of Morrissey’s sense of the bizzare.

Its the voice that gets you though. At times completely over the top and slightly annoying, at others mesmerising. It sounds like the bastard offspring of the great and sadly missed Billy Mackenzie and Sparks’s Russ Mael, operatic, bombastic and certainly not for the faint hearted, singing songs about lust and violence.

Knowing absolutely nothing about the band before this post, I now know that they are a four piece from Kendal, that they formed somewhere around 2005, that their new album “Smother” came out a few weeks ago (and is also pretty good by all accounts) and that the voice belongs to Hayden Thorpe.

Give it a go, see what you think… The opener “Fun Powder Plot” is one of the best things I’ve heard from a guitar band for ages..

Wild Beasts – Two Dancers

  1. Ric
    June 16, 2011 at 17:38

    Saw them on Later the other night… there you go then something to get excited about for The Big Chill then as I see they are on the lineup

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

