Home > Film, TV & Radio, Strange, Things I Like..., Videos > The Lattice of Coincidence…

The Lattice of Coincidence…

I’m writing today’s post in honour of my good friend Dan, who when we were talking about my interest in synchronicity in the pub last night, was definitely rather sceptical about the whole random connections thing, and fair enough…

As if to push his point home, this morning he sent me a link to this clip from Alex Cox’s finest moment, Repo Man from 1984, and a quote from the mild mannered janitor, Miller who thought a lot about this kind of stuff, mostly on the bus because as he says “the more you drive, the less intelligent you are…”

“A lot o’ people don’t realize what’s really going on. They view life as a bunch o’ unconnected incidents ‘n things. They don’t realize that there’s this, like, lattice o’ coincidence that lays on top o’ everything. Give you an example; show you what I mean: suppose you’re thinkin’ about a plate o’ shrimp. Suddenly someone’ll say, like, plate, or shrimp, or plate o’ shrimp out of the blue, no explanation. No point in lookin’ for one, either. It’s all part of a cosmic unconsciousness.”

I’d forgotten all about Repo Man, an excellent film involving LA punks, mad scientists, aliens and car repossession. I haven’t seen it for many, many years, something I intend to rectify this very afternoon as those lovely people at Amazon will sell me the DVD for £3.35 + postage… not much more than the price of the beer we were drinking last night!

I must say, I really like the phrase “The Lattice of Coincidence” and I’m very tempted to make it the new subtitle of this blog… Cheers Danny.

  1. June 16, 2011 at 22:44

    I feel honoured !

    • June 17, 2011 at 09:25

      Cheers Danny
      I was serious about Repo Man though, I had totally forgotten about it and I’m looking forward to seeing it next week when the DVD arrives…
      Hopefully the memory of Harry Dean Stanton’s “intenseness” and the reality of Emelio Estevez’s “annoyingness” are not too dissimilar…

  2. Arch
    June 23, 2011 at 14:11

    Love Repo Man
    Love Where the Wild Things Are
    Love the 4D stamp
    Love your blog
    love you
    Arch

    • June 23, 2011 at 15:12

      Cheers Arch… Love you too…

  3. June 30, 2011 at 09:11

    J’aime vraiment votre article. J’ai essaye de trouver de nombreux en ligne et trouver le v?tre pour être la meilleure de toutes.

    Mon francais n’est pas tres bon, je suis de l’Allemagne.

    Mon blog:
    credit immo ou rachat de credit fonctionnaire

  4. March 23, 2013 at 05:28

    Hey there, You’ve done an excellent job. I’ll certainly digg it and personally suggest to my friends.
    I am confident they’ll be benefited from this site.

  5. April 14, 2013 at 06:50
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

