Home > Blog, Film, TV & Radio, Personal, Things I Like... > 20,000 Hits Upon the Blog…

20,000 Hits Upon the Blog…

September 14, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

I know I said I wasn’t going to do this again, but I noticed the other day that I was fast approaching 20,000 visitors since I started this blog.. (i.e. 16 months ago)

No idea really if that’s good or bad for a small personal blog, but it feels like a hell of a lot to me and now I’ve actually reached that landmark figure, I think it deserves a little celebratory post all of its own…..

I typed 20,000 into Google, on the off chance, and these two rather wonderful images from 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea caught my eye. So as I’m a tad on the busy side at the moment, they will have to do in lieu of me creating a more personalised effort…

The first is from the 1907 silent version of Jules Verne’s Classic adventure story, which was directed by the ground breaking and visionary French director Georges Melies and wowed cinema audiences of the time with its use of cutting edge camera effects and techniques.

The second is a painted backdrop from the later, 1954 Disney version, a film which I can clearly remember from my childhood. Starring James Mason as Captain Nemo, this film went on to set the definitive style of the Victorian adventure novel for many years to come, as well as almost single handedly planting the seed that would grow into the Steampunk movement some 30 or so years later…

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

