Home > Personal, Things I Like..., Travels > Mountain Biking in Mark’s Favourite bit of Wales…

Mountain Biking in Mark’s Favourite bit of Wales…

September 19, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

I spent last weekend with my good friend Mark in southern Snowdonia learning to how to ride a bike up and down mountain trails…

It’s amazing how much you can learn about something you think you know about.. I cycle as often as I can around London so when Mark invited me to go on a days mountain bike training course, I saw it as an excellent opportunity to ride some proper gnarly Welsh terrain, but was rather sceptical as to how much I could be taught about riding a bike…

Our day was split into two, learning in the morning and riding in the afternoon, and it was the best fun I’ve had since I last went snowboarding back in February. Our instructor Graham was knowledgeable & patient and we both found that even the basics of riding a bike (braking, turning and balance for example) can be improved with the benefit of an expert eye.

As a reward for being good students, our afternoon was spent in the brilliant Forestry Commission of Wales’s  Coed y Brenin Trail Park, where we rode choice elements of The Minotaur, The Beast and The Dragon’s Back. It’s pretty tough going up, but so worth it when you get to go down….

As an aside we stayed at the beautiful cottage in the photo above. It’s called Coed Cae and if you’re ever in this part of Wales (Dolgellau/ Barmouth) you really should see if you can stay here. Graham and Jacky are excellent hosts, the lovely dogs are super bouncy, the breakfast was to die for and the pub is a short walk across a rickety little toll bridge to the other side of the Mawddach Estuary, one of the most beautiful places I’ve been to in Wales.

Unlike Mark however, I know I could never live in a place like this, I’m a city dweller through and through. But to visit for a weekend is a real treat and an excellent and highly recommended way to recharge your batteries…

  1. September 19, 2011 at 14:08

    Good work Joe – have to show me your new tricks 🙂

  2. September 19, 2011 at 14:50

    It was indeed an excellant lesson, so much so I have bought a bike! very weird to find out that although I snowboard regular I ride a bike goofy!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

