Bjork – Biophilia

October 10, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Bjork’s new LP is out today.. it’s called Biophilia. I’ve been listening to it on Spotify this morning, and it’s pretty good actually. A bit odd in places maybe, but full of her idiosyncratic sounds and vocals. I would say it’s definitely a Marmite kind of thing: either love it or hate it but I suspect there’ll be few occupying the middle “I’m not sure/ it’s alright” ground…

The intriguing cover for Biophilia continues to chart Bjork’s journey through the fringes of style and/or sanity… big red afro wigs, metal clothes and spangly lights are all in evidence…

I’ve quickly grabbed all her studio album covers and arranged them in chronological order to better assess her ongoing journey towards…. something… enlightenment possibly? From the simple black and white portrait of 1993’s Debut, through an increasingly exaggerated array of stylings and images, until for 2007’s Volta, she appeared to be wearing a big multicoloured plastic chicken suit…

On a more serious note, this album is the one of the first to be made available as an interactive IPad App… Not sure exactly what that entails yet, but it looks like you’ll be able to interact with and explore some of the various themes and sounds of the project, through videos, specially designed sequences and games. I think there’s even an opportunity to remix and/or rework some of the tunes….

If only I had an IPad, I would definitely be interested in that…..


  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment