Stone Carving Classes….

At the end of last year, I signed up to do a 10 week evening course in stone carving, and I have to take three or four images of things I would like to carve to the first lesson later this week.

I’ll admit that I’m finding it quite a difficult thing to do, to whittle down everything I like into four images…

So far the leading contenders are as follows:

These wonderful plaques are from Scandinavia and date from the 1960’s & 70’s. Designed and made by the likes of Noomi Backhausen and Marianne Starck, they are  beautifully simple, yet elegant things and could be a nice thing to begin with…

Being a big fan of fonts, carving some numbers might be good to do, nice and geometric, I could make a house number plaque using this rather lovely Eames inspired typeface…

Something dynamic and stylised like this beautiful bird by the Hungarian sculptor Magda Franck…

Or maybe something inspired by the more organic style of Barbara Hepworth (might be easier to rectify mistakes and change the design)…

I must say that I’m really looking forward to working a real piece of limestone (either Bath or Portland stone apparently) into something tangible and hopefully artistic…

My biggest fear is that I’m aiming too high and that with images of work by some of the greatest sculptors in the world (Eric Gill, Jacob Epstein, Gaudier-Bresezka , Hepworth, Moore) etc in mind, I may well get dispirited with my own lack of creative ability and give in…

I sincerely hope not…

  1. Arch
    January 10, 2012 at 12:45

    I’m looking forward to seeing what you make.
    Did you see that fantastic Henry Moore Exhibition in Kew Gardens? – takes me back to Leeds.

  2. January 10, 2012 at 13:12

    Howdy Arch.. I missed the Henry Moore, was that a recent thing?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

