Home > Collecting, Design, Things I Like... > Austin Industries Chess Set, 1966

Austin Industries Chess Set, 1966

How about this as a contender for “one of the most beautiful things you’re likely to see today”….

It’s an extruded aluminium chess set from 1966. It was designed by Austin Cox, for Austin Industries, and manufactured in the States by Alcoa. The silver (white) pieces are natural finish aluminium whilst the black ones have been bronze anodised around their outer edges.

The set came in a hardwood, foam lined box which could be wall mounted apparently, and had a fantastic, blue perspex sliding lid. The pieces were all stamped on their bases and it looks like you could buy each set either separately or as a pair in a single box…

Very, very nice indeed… So if anyone finds a spare one in their games cupboard, please don’t hesitate to let me know….

  1. Arch
    January 10, 2012 at 13:04

    Are you related?
    Archx

    • January 10, 2012 at 13:11

      Howdy Arch
      Nah, I don’t think so (unless it’s via some very distant relative who emigrated to the US back in olden times…) Jx

  2. Mark
    February 12, 2012 at 12:00

    how muxh do you want for this set?

    • February 12, 2012 at 12:24

      hi mark, I’m afraid I dont have one, but I too would like one very much, so if ever you find two…..

  3. February 17, 2012 at 17:19

    Dear Wharferj,
    I just stumbled across this and, The Austin Parks and Recreation Office would probably be the ultimate park that any particular person intrigued in Austin real estate or checking out the site could possibly actually really need to go to. The park steps hundreds of hundreds of acres featuring enjoyment-stuffed things to do and sceneries for men and women of all ages. There are multiple locations to select from as effectively as clearly-educated personnel who keep the basic safety and attractiveness of the region.
    Great Job!

  4. Lee Whittier
    March 26, 2012 at 22:43

    I have an Austin Cox set for sale. It’s a different one than this one, but also gorgeous. I can send pix if you like. If someone would like to they can call me at 917 657 1452 and I could text pics.

    Lee Whittier

    • Nicola
      May 16, 2012 at 11:13

      Hi Lee, I’m writing from Australia if you haven’t sold I’d love to have a look at some pics my email is writetonicola@gmail.com. Thanks 🙂

  5. Jason Romaker
    May 31, 2014 at 01:10

    I have a 1966 chess set for sale email me at lima_bean@yahoo.com or 419-604-9707 it’s the same as this 1 shown

  6. Jason Romaker
    May 31, 2014 at 01:11

    I have a 1966 chess set for sale email me at lima_bean@yahoo.com or 419-604-9707 it’s the same as this 1 shown I’m in Lima ohio

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

