Home > Architecture & Urban Design, Things I Like..., Web Stuff, Writing > Neighbourhood No. 9 in The Shrieking Violet

Neighbourhood No. 9 in The Shrieking Violet

February 5, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’ve touched on this before, but one of the best things to come out of writing this blog are the connections that I’ve made with people I might otherwise never have met…

A perfect recent example is Natalie Bradbury, who shares an interest in all things artistic and cultural and like me is also a fan of that great unsung British artist William Mitchell.

Based up in Manchester, Natalie has just published a highly impressive 17th edition of her excellent, award-winning blog & online magazine The Shrieking Violet in which she has very kindly included an article written by me, on one of my favourite subjects…

Entitled Neighbourhood No. 9: The Live Architecture Exhibition at Poplar (on pages 3 to 6), it takes a brief look at one of the lesser known aspects of the 1951 Festival of Britain, namely how contemporary ideas in Architecture, Urban Design and Town Planning might best be used to create new communities in a Post War Britain, an issue that still has repurcussions to this day and one that I think should be much more widley known about than it is.

I must say I’m pretty excited about being in The Shrieking Violet, as it’s the first time I’ve had something I’ve researched and written published.

There are some low quality screen grabs below (mostly for my own record purposes) but if you’re interested then you really should visit Natalie’s amazing site and read the whole magazine for yourself…

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

