New Architectual Stamps

February 24, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

It comes to something when an article in the Metro elicits three emails from friends all asking me the same thing, in this case, did I know that there were some new stamps with Basil Spence & Coventry Cathedral on.

I’m not sure if it’s because of the Basil Spence connection or the stamp collecting, either way, it’s probably not a good thing to be known for if I’m honest…

Still here are the stamps as seen in yesterday’s Metro.. and very nice they are too…

Ten stamps of distinguished Britons, two of which are architects; the undoubted genius that was Augustus Welby Northmore Pugin (a man so driven, he had worked himself to death before he was 41) and my personal favourite Sir Basil Urwin Spence (why is it that the old school architects have such great names…)

I suspect that Spence was chosen not only as he is a Briton of Distinction, but that this year marks the 60th anniversary of the consecration of his masterpiece, Coventry Cathedral…

Personally I think it’s good that architects are considered worthy of inclusion. My profession at the moment is suffering from something of an identity crisis. We generally know the value of what we do and how much benefit good design can bring to a project, but all too often it seems that a sadly decreasing number of clients agree with us. Architecture is too often considered as nothing more than a bolt on service to the main job of getting something built, rather than a fundamentally important aspect of the process.

Still like most architects I know, it’s what I’ve always wanted to do and I suspect (and I’m aware this sounds a bit pretentious) this is a key part of our problem, in that architecture is a career that we’re born to do rather than are paid to do.

And yes I will be getting a set for my collection.

  1. Darren Stacey
    February 24, 2012 at 09:51

    Yeah yeah yeah, blahdy blah…..stamps and all that….. What I’m really waiting for is the blog on the Velodrome.

    • February 24, 2012 at 10:25

      Morning Darren
      oops.. I forgot about that one, I’ve just got so many ideas for posts, I simply don’t have time to do them all…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

