Home > Music, People, Things I Like... > Grimes – Genesis

Grimes – Genesis

I knew nothing about Grimes before I wrote this post, other than I really liked the snatches of a beautiful bass line and wispy vocals from a song that I’ve been hearing over the office radio for the past few weeks, and was intrigued that Lauren Laverne and Steve Lamacq kept referring to Genesis… surely this wasn’t Phil Collins’s new direction..

 

Thankfully it wasn’t, and I now know that Grimes’s real name is Claire Boucher, she’s Canadian, she rocks a pretty cool look and having released two critically acclaimed LP’s, has recently signed to one of my favourite labels, the ever consistent 4AD Records, for her third album, which will be released shortly.

This wonderful tune reminds me of Kraftwerk, The Cocteau Twins, The Orb, Kirsty Hawkshaw, in fact everything I like about electronic music…

There’s some more of her music on Spotify, nothing as instant as this track, but certainly some beautiful tunes that I suspect will grow on me more and more as I listen to them over the coming weeks.

Definitely someone to keep an ear on…

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

