Tony Morris @ Poole Pottery

I’m the kind of person who if I like something, will generally make the effort to find out as much as I can about it..

Take Poole Pottery… an odd subject maybe, but me & And have a number of really quite beautiful plates and pots that we’ve collected over the last few years and I’ve always got an eye out for shiny new things to acquire…

So I was somewhat surprised when despite having looked a bit into Poole Pottery and its history, I came across a designer that I’d completely missed, which is disappointing, as the plates and chargers of Tony Morris, are some of the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen, with the kind of style and colour that really, really floats my boat,

I can’t believe I’ve never seen them before now…

It all started when I was contacted recently by The Virtual Museum of Poole. They had read my post on the Gordon Cullen Mural in Coventry and asked if they could borrow some of my photos. Poole Pottery was previously known as Carter & Company, who in their day were justifiably famous for producing high quality ceramic reliefs and murals including much of the London Underground and Cullen’s wonderful work in Coventry.

After I’d responded to say of course, I had a look around their very informative site and knew as soon as saw these images that I had to have Morris’s extraordinary work up on my blog…

Morris, who had never worked on ceramics before joining Poole Pottery straight from Art school in 1962, was offered the position purely on the strength of his paintings. It’s not clear how long he stayed, or how many designs he was responsible for, but the quality of his ideas and their execution is truly amazing…

It may sometimes be difficult to put into words what makes an object or a piece of art stand out as aesthetically pleasing, but I knew as soon as I saw these, that I wanted them… Sadly so do lots of other people and the best two pieces available on eBay tonight are available through “buy it now” for £1800 and £995…

So it looks like I’ll just have to make do with these photos until I make my first million…

  1. September 29, 2012 at 22:26

    Wow!

  2. Paul
    January 11, 2015 at 16:36

    Great chargers. As a bit of a novice Poole collector I’m looking for any info on a Tonny Morris vase I bought brand new in the early nineties. It’s triangular in shape and embossed with fish and other aquatic scenes. It’s green in colour.

    • January 16, 2015 at 09:03

      Hi Paul
      my best suggestion would be to follow the links in the post. From what I remember there was a section where you can ask sbout pottery.
      Thanks for visiting and taking the time to comment.
      Joe

  1. September 12, 2012 at 14:46
    Anety

Leave a Reply

