Home > Architecture & Urban Design, Books, Novels & Writing, Things I Like..., Writing > Patrick Gwynne in The Manchester Modernist Magazine…

Patrick Gwynne in The Manchester Modernist Magazine…

MM6-Cuppa_cover 001 With all the excitement of Christmas, I completely forgot to post about a short architectural piece I wrote being published at the end of last year in the Modernist Magazine…

Started a couple of years ago and based up in Manchester, the Modernist Magazine is now up to issue no. 6. which is no mean feat for a self published hard copy magazine. The editors, Jack, Maureen and Emily can be very proud of this achievement

Each edition has an over arching theme, with “Cuppa” chosen for this one, a teasingly simple title that encourages subjects as varied as Billy Butlin’s cafe in the Telecom Tower, Melamine, Lewis’s Department Store in Liverpool, David Mellor’s cutlery and the Czech Pavilion from Expo 58. Anything really as long as it fits within a Twentieth Century modern architecture & design umbrella.

My piece was about one this countries most overlooked architects Patrick Gwynne, and his timeless extension to the Theatre Royal in York from 1968.

Each issue of the magazine has a limited print run, so if you’re interested in getting a copy (for the very reasonable price of £4.50) you can visit the Manchester Modernist website here…

Alternatively you can browse back issues which have already sold out here…

And finally, a big thanks to Stephen Cole for allowing me to use his photo of the Theatre.

MM6-Cuppa_final

  1. SteveWhite2008
    January 16, 2013 at 11:31

    I went to Manchester once & discovered Fornasetti!

  2. February 13, 2013 at 01:31

    My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find a lot of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for.
    Does one offer guest writers to write content for you personally?
    I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on some of the subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome blog!

  3. May 15, 2013 at 05:59

    Hi would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with? I’m planning to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a difficult time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.

    P.S My apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

  4. June 28, 2013 at 16:01

    Heya i’m for the primary time here. I found this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out much. I am hoping to provide something back and aid others like you helped me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

