Home > Books, Novels & Writing, Graphics & Illustration, Personal, Things I Like... > Munich 1972 Olympic Sticker Book…

Munich 1972 Olympic Sticker Book…

January 16, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

Esso olympics book 001This is the cover of a book I had when I was a youngster. It was produced by Esso Petrol to celebrate the Munich Olympics of 1972 and in it you could collect all the stickers that your mum and dad were given when they filled the car with fuel…

To say that I loved it, would be an understatement. My mum reminds me that I carried it around almost constantly for about six months around the time of the games.

With all the excitement of the London Olympics last year, I was reminded of this book, and bored my little And telling her how cool it was and how, thanks to my understanding parents, I had managed to collect all 40 stickers, (christ knows how much that must have cost them in fuel). I asked my M&D about it before last summer’s games and although they both remembered it well, neither knew what had happened to it.. So that was that really and I thought little more of it..

The reason for writing this post however, is that I am now the proud owner of three copies of this book….

The first one I bought in a second hand market near London Bridge back in October. I couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw it, and was even more chuffed when the woman only wanted 50p for it. It was a bit knackered unfortunately, and the previous owner had only managed to collect half the stickers, but looking through the pages I was amazed at how familiar it all seemed, despite not having seen it for nearly 40 years.

Roll forward to a couple of weeks ago and we were in Leicester killing time between Christmas and New Year (as you do) when in a £1 sale box outside an odd little second hand bookshop was another copy of the album, but this time with all stickers present and correct and moreover, in pretty amazing condition as well… I snapped it up, knowing full well I really didn’t need two of them, but easily justifying the purchase as it was complete…

Then guess what, last week I got a parcel through the post. My M&D had only gone and found the original sticker album lurking somewhere up in the loft… so from none to three in as many months without resorting to the ever giving interweb.. (where there are of course hundreds available…)

Looking at it again now, what I like about the album is its graphic simplicity. Hardly any information overlaps, there’s not too much text on each page and the combination of photos, stickers (obviously) and the now dated but still to my eyes, rather stylish drawings, results in a thing unquestionably of its time, but resonant I would suggest of the optimism and excitement of the Olympic Games (especially if you were a seven year old boy).

olympics_2 001

olympics_4 001

olympics_5 001

olympics_3 001

olympics_6 001

olympics_8 001

olympics_7 001

  1. SteveWhite2008
    January 16, 2013 at 10:20

    & remember how that turned out!
    A very sour taste.

  2. January 16, 2013 at 10:43

    Indeed Steve,
    It was a deliberate editorial decision of mine not to refer to the terrorism and kidnapping for which the games will forever be linked. Maybe this was naive of me, and graphic design and childhood memories should not be thought of in a vacuum…
    Joe

  3. SteveWhite2008
    January 16, 2013 at 11:28

    On the one hand it can be viewed as propaganda that was proved false but that isn’t the fault of the booklet of course.
    It’s typical of advertising in general.
    On the other hand as a child, we live quite often in a vacuum insulated from the adult world, I grew up in the Cold War with all the nuclear armaggedon stuff.
    I went to a Civil Defence meeting that scared the crap out of me & I thought what’s the point.
    I know Russia quite well & it’s interesting to see the other side of things.

  4. January 25, 2013 at 16:42

    Having collection of stickers you gathered at the time of childhood make every moment please when you see it and especially if you have a collection of event like Olympics then it gives you more comfort than anything.

  5. natasha
    May 20, 2013 at 17:20

    i have panini sticker books from 60 and 70’s completely filled if you are interested to buy ?

  6. September 3, 2013 at 10:25

    I never make comments and explore other people’s blogs, but I feel I must share the events of the last few minutes that brought me here:
    I was just composing a spreadsheet which detailed my age as being 8 during most of 1972 and thought I might like to add a kind of significant event or where I was that year and the only thing I could think of was that same Esso sticker book, thinking “I’m sure that was 1972, let’s google it…” so that brought me here. What nostalgic feelings seeing your images here has given me. I also remember collecting those coins from Esso on one of their other promotions – do you remember them too? – how exciting when your Dad came back with the packaged item and opening it would reveal whether it was one you had collected before!

    • September 3, 2013 at 14:25

      Hi John
      I remember the coins well, the space series especially, and the green (?) cardboard sheet with silver lettering that they all fitted into…
      Many thanks for taking the time to visit and comment.. happy to help you reminisce…..
      Joe

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

