I’m now a Wikipedian…

January 30, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’ve just had my very first Wikipedia article created, which I’m rather chuffed about. Apparently that means I can now call myself a Wikipedian (should I ever wish to…)

I Initially found writing and editing in Wikipedia rather daunting I have to admit. The entry obviously all has to be done to conform with the familiar house style, which means formatting everything into an unfamiliar code that determines such things as text size, headings, sub-headings, web links and references etc. Printing out a copy of the style and layout manual undoubtedly helped, so that after some perseverance and lots of coffee, it finally began to make some sort of sense.

Perhaps unsurprisingly (for those that have visited my blog before) my first article is about my favourite artist and sculptor William Mitchell, a man who I believe is very deserving of finally having his own entry…

It actually took two goes to get the artcile approved. My first attempt was considered to be too subjective and that it “read like an advertisement.” But after removing some of the more gushing adjectives and the reference to his forthcoming autobiography (hmm) hey presto, a new Wikipedia page has come into being…

Now that it’s been created, the plan is to improve it by adding photos and images of Bill’s work and elaborating on some of his phenomenal achievements over the last 50 years or so…

You can get to the page by clicking the screen grab below… and as it’s Wikipedia, you can of course add to it yourself…

Bill wiki page

  1. January 30, 2013 at 23:07

    Now that you’ve got your head around it I look forward to our Kudos and Freestyle Records wiki pages !

    • January 31, 2013 at 00:28

      It’ll be an honor Dan.
      Joe

  2. rbnd1
    February 4, 2013 at 18:58

    Hello. I’m the author of the uncredtied blog post about William Mitchell’s reactive-light piece for Manchester Piccadilly. Congratulations on your work being accepted. Bill is a lovely man and deserved of his entry on WIkipedia. If you fancy making an edit, my name is Richard Brook and I’m a lecturer at the Manchester School of Architecture. Kind regards.

    • February 4, 2013 at 21:35

      Hi Richard.
      I will add your name to the article with pleasure.
      One of the wonders of writing this blog is that Bill, his wife Joy and I have become friends, and I agree totally, they are very special people.
      Bill has mentioned your name to me previously, but it was actually Natalie Bradbury who sent me a link to your very fine piece on the Manchester Hotel. Natalie has been kind enough to include a couple of pieces of my writing in The Shrieking Violet.
      Together we must continue to fly the Mitchell flag and win him the recognition that he so rightly deserves…
      Thanks for visiting and taking the time to comment.
      Joe

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

