Home > Art, Sculpture & Photography, Science & Technology, Things I Like... > Divine Retribution or Science in action…

Divine Retribution or Science in action…

February 13, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

170433-lightning-hits-vaticanWhen I saw this rather excellent photo in yesterday’s papers, I wondered if I should rethink my position on organised religion…

The bolt of lightning that hit the Dome of St Peters Basilica in Rome not long after the Pope announced he was stepping down, was interpreted by many of the faithful as a sign from their God, quoting Psalm 29 which reminds them that “The voice of the Lord strikes with flashes of lightning”…

Indeed…

Meanwhile in the real world, science reminds me that lighting is caused when positively and negatively charged particles within a cloud separate to the top and bottom respectively, thereby creating a build up of charge that is best neutralised via contact with, amongst other things, the nearest bit of the earth it can find.

In this instance, St Peters was the tallest building in the area when the storm passed over Rome. Unusual and coincidental perhaps, but nothing more than that…

So actually no, I don’t need to rethink my position. I know exactly where I stand…

  1. Tim
    February 14, 2013 at 10:10

    Many years ago (1980’s) I read “The clowns of God” by Morris West & that was about a Pope Gregory who resigns due to ill health, though in the story he’s forced to resign due to thinking that the 2nd coming is about to happen.
    I am now rereading the book!

  2. February 14, 2013 at 10:35

    Hi Tim
    Sounds like an book worth digging out.. Thanks for taking the time to comment
    Joe

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment