Home > Graphics & Illustration, People, Things I Like..., Videos > Tarik Barri & Atoms for Peace.

Tarik Barri & Atoms for Peace.

I saw this Atoms For Peace video for Judge Jury and Executioner for the first time earlier this week, and I was so completely awestruck at it’s rhythmic layering and beauty, I watched it three times. See what you think…

 

This amazing piece of work was made by the audiovisual composer Tarik Barri. Can’t find much biog about him online but his own site here offers some philosophy and insight as to who he is and what he does.

Suffice to say that his main interest appears to be in the interplay of the audio and the visual. He tells us “I try to discover new forms of beauty through the influences that seeing and hearing have on each other. In my work they’ve become inseparable: the viewer hears images and sees sounds”

A bold statement indeed, but I think he’s on to something. If you watch this film with headphones on as I was last night, the experience is intensified and it’s difficult to imagine one without the other.

It’s also difficult to get my aging brain around how this kind of rich visual experience is created. Barri refers to software that he writes himself but whether this coordinates models made in other software or some such is way beyond my knowledge to comment on I’m afraid…

But however it’s made, it looks fantastic. Look for the bit when at about 20 seconds in, what seems to be a figure appears from the background synching perfectly with Flea’s bass noise. But there’s nothing figurative here and we are soon in a Man Ray/ Moholgy-Nagy type sepia Constructivist landscape of shifting layers, shapes and lights. This all subliminally slows down to reflect Thom Yorke’s almost mournful humming, until the bass kicks in again around 1.30 and the choreographed random spinning starts again.. Very nice. I could watch it for hours..

The song’s pretty excellent as well to my ears. Not quite as instant as the previous single Default I thought initially, but its growing on me and I’m certainly looking forward to the album being on Spotify so I can listen to the whole thing…

I’ll write about Stanley Donwood’s ever excellent artwork another time…

Atoms for Peace - Judge Jury Executioner

  1. March 10, 2013 at 11:06

    Thank you again for introducing me to things I might otherwise not have found.

    My interest in the video stopped at about 1.07 – just too much of the same thing.

    I probably shouldn’t have even started to write this.

    • March 10, 2013 at 15:02

      Hi David
      it’s one of lifes wonders that even though us humans are all made pretty much identically, what appeals to us as individuals, spans an unimaginable variety…
      Joe

      • March 10, 2013 at 15:19

        I have thought that if there is a God, the greatest miracle – greater than the universe – is that he can make us all different.

        If there is not a God, then I don’t know what to make of the differences.

  2. Tim
    March 10, 2013 at 12:35

    A touch of “Metropolis”?

    • March 10, 2013 at 19:45

      Evening Tim
      Definitely some Fritz Lang in there…

  3. March 10, 2013 at 17:27

    Fabulous! I too was seeing a figure (dancing) at the beginning. Mesmerising.

    • March 10, 2013 at 19:49

      Hi Bridget
      Mesmerising is right. I’ve just ended up watching it again and seeing new things every time. Tarik Barri is definitely a name to keep an eye on.
      Joe

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

