Home > Art, Sculpture & Photography, Books, Novels & Writing, People, Things I Like... > William Mitchell’s Autobiography – availaible very soon…

William Mitchell’s Autobiography – availaible very soon…

Bill Mitchell - The Eyes Within book cover.My friends Bill and Joy Mitchell have just emailed to let me know that the autobiography they have been working on for the last few years, has finally been given a publication date at the end of July and is now available for pre-order on Amazon

This is most excellent news indeed. I’ve played a very small part in helping them in the final stages of the project and Bill has done me the HUGE honor of using one of my photographs for the front cover… (it’s a detail from the doors of Liverpool Metropolitan Cathedral)

Bill has produced a whole series of beautiful new drawings to illustrate the various chapters of his life… from childhood illness to service in the Navy, from Art School to his pioneering sculptural work for the GLC, from regular appearances on TV and hobnobbing with royalty, to his work abroad and long time Directorship at Harrods…

Without doubt, the man has had a pretty eventful life and produced some truly stunning and timeless art along the way. I’ve written about William Mitchell in these pages a number of times before (here and here for starters) and what’s more I shan’t stop until more people are aware of his name and the huge contribution he has made to our artistic, social and cultural heritage.

I’m happy to report that there is evidence that this is indeed starting to happen, as over the last year or so, several Flickr pages (here and here) and numerous write ups on personal blogs have started to appear and this autobiography is another exciting step towards the recognition that I believe Bill so rightly deserves.

If you are interested in his work, Bill’s own website is here, but keep your eye on these pages, as we are currently looking into the possibility of organising a number of supporting events later on in the year…

george mitchell_cement concrete assoc_1

Three Tuns Wall_Combined

Mitchell Stations_1

Kirby Library_seva-nmb

Liverpool_1

  1. April 15, 2013 at 18:02

    You can certainly see your skills in the work you write. The
    arena hopes for more passionate writers like you who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe. At all times follow your heart.

  2. Susan MacKell
    April 15, 2013 at 20:50

    Fantastic news, I will be reserving my copy.
    Its good to see the work we have at Kirkby Library in your piece about Bill.
    Did you manage to visit?
    Please let me know of any further developments.
    Best wishes Susan

    • April 16, 2013 at 09:54

      Hi Susan
      Good news indeed, it’s certainly been an heroic effort on Bill and Joy’s part, but very well worth it I would say. I’ve not managed to get to Kirby I’m afraid, but I’m hoping to one day, Bills work there looks brilliant and I would love to see it.
      Thanks for visiting and taking the time to comment.
      Joe

  3. AW
    April 15, 2013 at 21:06

    Good work Joseph.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

