Home > Graphics & Illustration, Science & Technology, Things I Like..., Videos > 3D Mapping onto moving surfaces & Ultimae Records…

3D Mapping onto moving surfaces & Ultimae Records…

September 30, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

My friend Rob sent me a link to this amazing video this morning…

I have to admit that I’m struggling to work out exactly what it is I’m watching, because as the description on Vimeo states, this is a “live performance, captured entirely in camera…” with no added post production or CGI…

If I were to guess though, I’d say that the two robot arms are moving the screens around, providing the accuracy needed for the mapping, the man is initially pretending to move the screens around before he gets digitised towards the end and the 3D digital mapping programme/ presentation is a thing of such complexity and impressive creation that having watched it 3 times now, I’ve given up trying to work out what it’s doing…

There are some very clever touches throughout the film; the sound of the robots moving and the use of the floor for the text being two, but I especially like the very end where the robot arms appear as line drawings behind the screens… The final quote from Arthur C Clarke has never been more apposite. “Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic”

I love all this digital visual trickery, and I’ve written about it previously after we’d seen Amon Tobin’s mind blowing ISAM show at last year’s otherwise lamentable Bloc Festival, and this new development where the background onto which the projections are mapped is moving around, seems like a huge leap forward and definitely something worth keeping an eye on…

The music is pretty excellent too. It reminds me of the sounds I’ve been finding recently on the French label Ultimae Records.. Bands with rather Sci-Fi names like AES Dana, Solar Fields, Asura, HUVA Network and Carbon Based Lifeforms.

If like me, you enjoy machine made electronica that’s rich, layered and unbelievably well produced, you might care to check them all out on Spotify…

  1. moi
    October 10, 2013 at 13:29

    I love ultimae records. I buy a lot of tracks from there including the artists you mention.

    • October 10, 2013 at 17:46

      Hi Moi
      Thanks for taking the time to comment. It’s always reassuring to know other people share my tastes…
      Joe.

      • moi
        October 10, 2013 at 18:30

        Or you share mine 😛

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

