Home > History, Politics, Things I Like... > A New Union Jack…

A New Union Jack…

December 6, 2013

It hadn’t occurred to me before I read this article on the BBC website, but if the Scots decide to go it alone and vote for independence next year, there is a very strong argument that the Union Jack, our national flag for the last 200 years or so, should be redesigned to reflect this new situation…

In a follow up article here the BBC asked readers to submit their own suggestions, some of which are pretty good, others are just silly. But it’s got me thinking about how I might approach the problem…

_71534769_350618I certainly like the idea of introducing green into the flag, and this suggestion from Dave Parker could be a good starting point for my money. It keeps the basic, universally recognisable appearance, which is probably the right approach, but uses the different colour to emphasise our Welsh connections…

Obviously the die hards and traditionalists will decry the loss of the red, white and blue that has for so long defined our Nation, but if the Scots take their blue flag of St Andrew away, can we still legitimately include it within the New Union Jack?

Interesting. I think I might have a little go myself and see if I can come up with something of my own…

PS. I’m also really enjoying my word for the day… Vexillologist or flag expert. I’ve not come across that one before…

