William Mitchell – The Eyes Within…

December 23, 2013

WM coverJust a quick holding post today, until I’ve read it through and can give a proper opinion..

I’ve just received a copy of the newly published William Mitchell autobiography, The Eyes Within.

First impressions are very good. It looks really excellent, large format with lots of photos and pictures, many of which I know he drew especially for the book. Not bad for a man nearing 90 years old… I can’t wait to get started…

But that will have to wait until later, as I am meeting Bill and his wife Joy at Harrods for a special book signing between 12.00 and 2.00pm today. It will be good to see him in the surroundings of the Egyptian Halls at Harrods, as I believe he considers this huge and impressive installation as his Masterpiece…

I would personally put forward his work at the cathedrals of Liverpool or Clifton/ Bristol or his stunning wall murals at The Lee Valley Water Co. or in  Coventry for that accolade, but that’s beside the point.

Suffice to say Bill Mitchell has created an untold wealth of work over the years and I am very much looking forward to reading the back stories of what he has hinted to me as having been a very interesting life…

