Home > Graphics & Illustration, Music, People, Things I Like... > Daniel Avery – Drone Logic

Daniel Avery – Drone Logic

January 21, 2014 Leave a comment Go to comments

averyI’m very much enjoying this record at the moment. I’ve been listening to the future and it reminds me of the past…

Daniel Avery is a young English musician who uses cutting edge digital technology to make tunes that take me back to the music I fell in love with in the early 1990’s.

I first came across him on his FabricLive mix CD released at the end of 2012. If I’m honest it didn’t grab me at the time, not in the same way that Surgeon’s truly awesome techno mix for Fabric did a year or so before, but listening to Avery’s tunes again now as a collection on an album, has been a revelation.

His rich productions conjure up the spirit of the early pioneers like Luke Slater, Dave Angel and Hardfloor, whilst echoes of later bands such as Underworld and Orbital trip through my head when I listen to tracks like Free Floating, Water Jump, Drone Logic and Need Electric…

Having said that, whilst Avery’s music maybe derivative (although in a good way) to my ears it’s neither slavishly copyist nor inanely nostalgic or anachronistic. He brings a modern interpretation to the techno sound I’ve always loved, using slower tempos and a richer vocabulary of noises and vocal samples to ensure that this most misunderstood genre of dance music remains fresh and exciting.

Check it out on Spotify… You may not like all of it, but I bet you won’t be able to stop nodding your head to it…

The drawings and artwork for Avery’s records are interesting too. I can’t find the name of the artist just at the moment, but when I do, I’ll be sure to let you know…

DanielAvery_1

danielaveryep

daniel-avery-water-jump-ep

  1. moi
    January 21, 2014 at 20:37

    I started listening to Water Jump and saved the playlist for later listening as I was in the middle of another album… sounds interesting for sure at the moment.

    • January 21, 2014 at 20:40

      Hi Moi
      It certainly won’t be to everyone’s tastes, but if you like techno.. you’ll like this..
      Joe

      • moi
        January 21, 2014 at 20:48

        I am generally more an ambient, psy, downtempo kind of guy on the elctronic music front, but the track i heard seemed pretty good.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

