Home > Blog, Personal, Things I Like..., Web Stuff > Half a Million People can’t be wrong…

Half a Million People can’t be wrong…

January 23, 2014 Leave a comment Go to comments

Blog screen grab_21.01.14Funny old thing the internet, it does things you just can’t predict…

There I was worrying that only posting five or six times a month might be affecting my visitor numbers when .. bang, totally out of the blue, a post I wrote back in August 2012 on Underground Guerrilla Signs has gone berserk… Again.

Last Monday alone, very nearly 30,000 people stopped by to have a nose. Why now though?  I’ve looked around the net to see what the generator might be for nearly 70,000 people reading the post over the last four or five days, but there’s nothing tangible I can find. Definitely a mystery for Arthur C. Clarke…

Anyway as you may have guessed from the title and the screen grab above, amazingly this sudden rush means more than 500,000 people have now viewed this site since my first post in May 2010…

And as this is my 398th post, I reckon there’s a distinct possibility I’ll get that total to 500 also. That’s the great thing about the 21st Century, there’s always more stuff to muse about…

The only down side to all this traffic is purely a graphic one, in that for the past year or so, my previous (not at all tardy) daily average of around 250/300 views, now looks like hardly anything at all, and will do for the next few weeks, as the big blue bar moves inexorably to the left…

  1. moi
    January 24, 2014 at 10:12

    Wow, I haven’t had even nearly 30,000 view in total on my whole blog… period. I’ve over 500 posts. you’re doing something right.

    • January 24, 2014 at 10:59

      Hi Moi
      I’ve read that the narrower the subject matter and the more often you post, the more hits you’re likley to get.. but as I’m neither focused nor frequent, I’m not sure how I’ve had so many visitors..
      Joe

      • moi
        January 24, 2014 at 11:01

        True, If you have a niche and your niche is popular, especially if you use tags etc, not sure if you utilise facebook, twitter (other) networks too, I tend to not do that, That was an impressive number of visitors though same way, congrats.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

