Rik Mayall…

Rik Mayall_1It’s coming to something when someone who can only be considered as being of your own generation dies…

Rik was only 6 years older than me, and like everyone our age, the impact of The Young Ones on us was huge: Changing his life as he morphed into one of our finest comic actors, and changing my life through the realisation that getting older didnt have to mean becoming more sensible…

My brother and I watched the programmes so many times on mum and dads new video recorder (bought like so many others I suspect so that we could watch the pirate version of ET…) that we could quote all 12 programmes almost verbatim.

Still can in fact, ask my And..

Not sure what he died of as yet, but it’s very sad news to end the day on. A funny man, gone too soon.

 

  1. June 9, 2014 at 21:57

    It’s very sad. I remember Kevin Turvey, such an original voice in 1981,with the promise of great things to come, which they certainly did. 56 is no age at all.

  2. June 10, 2014 at 09:54

    Morning Bridget
    Being a Midlander myself (although from Cov not Brum) Kevin Turvey’s Brummy accent was used against me at college in the md 80’s, as all my new southern friends seemed to think everyone north of Watford spoke like him.
    Sad indeed…
    Joe

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment